Haggadah Supplement and Enough Food For Everyone IF

I wrote in my weekly message to The LJS community about the campaign ‘Enough Food For Everyone IF’ – which is seeking to do everything possible whilst the UK holds the G8 presidency to bring an end to hunger of the 1 billion people who do not have enough food to eat.

In the piece I said:

On the subject of Pesach, I have contributed a small piece of writing towards a Haggadah supplement for the ‘Enough Food For Everyone IF’ campaign.  Contributions are being drawn from the whole of the Jewish community and my hope is that the supplement will be shared widely and will be used in many homes. The food most associated with Pesach is matzah and it is commonly referred to as ‘Bread of Affliction’. However the Hebrew for ‘affliction’ could also be translated as ‘Poverty’. A simple piece of unleavened bread reminds us that the basic foods necessary to prevent hunger are not complicated. However, tackling the issue of 1 billion hungry people in the world is something that will take a shared commitment to a common cause.

Some thousands of years after our people first celebrated their escape from slavery and grappled with the idea of freedom and responsibility, we still live in a world in which people go to bed hungry every night. That bothers me and must surely be part of our conversation at Pesach this year. Bearing this in mind, perhaps we could all eat a little less at Pesach or tarry a little longer in the telling of the story at our seder before asking ‘when do we eat?’. I know I will be thinking of the fifth child: the child who does not share in a table spread with delicious food and whose stomach cries ‘Have you forgotten me?’ Perhaps you will make your own innovation this year, or commitment to become involved in the Enough Food For Everyone IF campaign. If so, I would love to hear from you.

I’ve written about the campaign already here and here.

I had a few problems downloading the Haggadah supplement – you can find an alternate download point here: Enough Food, Haggadah supplement.

Shabbat Shalom!

